A COUNCILLOR has praised residents in Saddleworth’s most isolated village for supporting long standing traditions.

Pam Byrne, who serves on both Oldham and Saddleworth Parish Council, was presenting prizes at Denshaw’s annual flower show.

There was a bumper 300-strong entry in this year’s show and, despite extreme summer weather, organisers praised the quality of entries with particular focus on extra large dahlias and onions.

Cllr Byrne said: “Seeing whole generations of the community taking part shows the spirit of appreciation for these longstanding traditions.

“They had more entries than ever before and the village turned out in force to view them - they were queueing from mid afternoon.

“The show is one of my favourite events - my marmalade won a first prize - and entries from the children were both imaginative and attractive.”

She added: “These shows are really part of the fabric of our communities and it’s a marvellous opportunity for everyone to take part and share the fun of the day.”

Dr Andrew Vance, the show committee’s chairman, said: “It’s a wonderful event and gives everyone, young or old, a chance to shine.

“As a child I loved the creation of miniature gardens and entries in that category in this year’s show were delightful.”

And long-standing show committee member Joe Halsall, writing in the shows programme, welcomed the return of the village scarecrows competition which first appeared last year.

Sponsored by Christina and Barry Evans, landlord and landlady of The Junction Inn, a wide variety of colourful and creative scarecrows appeared at key village sites and outside properties.

Joe said: “The scarecrows were a big success last year and are just as welcome this year. A tremendous effort has gone into making them - they are a great addition to the village.”

There were key section prize winners but every entry received a photograph, a goodie bag and bottle of procecco from The Junction. Said landlady Christina: “There were top quality entries and great creativity.”

The winners in the various categories were: Dneshaw Garage Rose Bowl, Andrew Vance; Friarswood Buttonhole Cup, Kathy Hobbs; Oddfellow’s Shield, Joe Halsall; Delph Tool Shield, Andrew Vance; Mike &Tricia Shield, Ann Smith; Florence McMahon Trophy, Ann Smith; Trish Benton Memorial Bowl, Andrew Vance; Healy Cup, D Mullarkey; J W Lees Shield, Wright & Green; Oxhey Shield, Millicent Feber; The Leedham Onion Cup, D Mullarkey; Keith Coppack Memorial Shield, D Mullarkey; Sam Smith Shield, Michael Lyons; Read Trophy, Wright & Green; Margaret Coppack Memorial Shield, Millicent Feber; Denshaw Shield, Norma Race; Coin Automatic Shield, Hazel Billing; Win Cup, Liz Brookes; Joe Halsall Cup, Brendan Buckley; Rob Runacre Memorial Cup, Alice Brookes; Miniature Garden Cup, Alice Brookes; Animal from fruit or veg cup, Ede Mitchell; Rowland’s and Pat’s Trophy, Elixabeth Feber; Christ Church Denshaw Cup, Ede Mitchell; Denshaw Children’s Cup, Ian Blackwood; Mary Leedham Memorial Cup, Joe Halsall; The Flower Cup, Joe Halsall; Norman Healy Memorial Cup, Wright & Green; Wibsey Cup, Millicent Feber; Denshaw Cup, Ann Smith.