OLDHAM Council's controlling Labour Group has unveiled its new cabinet team.

Labour's majority increased by one following the local elections in May, with the additions of Ruji Surjan in Coldhurst, Muhammed Alyas in Medlock Vale and George Hulme in Saddleworth North.

At the annual council meeting last night, leader Sean Fielding formally appointed a revised cabinet for the year ahead, including new portfolios for social justice and communities and for education and skills.

Cllr Fielding said: “The local election showed that voters in Oldham and Saddleworth are recognising Labour’s work over the last year, and particularly our continued commitment to outstanding education for all of our young people, investing in our roads, and regenerating our town centres.

“But while services are improving, it’s vital that the council continue to fight for residents. From tackling bad landlords, to improving bus services, to supporting the victims of crime, over the next year we’ll be campaigning hard for the things that really matter to people.

“My new cabinet is a strong group of advocates for our borough, who share a commitment to making Oldham the best it can be. The group’s expertise and leadership will be tested to the full as we continue to battle ongoing Tory austerity, but we are determined to ensure Oldham is a great place to learn, work and live.”

Oldham Council’s new cabinet is as follows:

Cabinet Member for Economy and Enterprise: Cllr Sean Fielding (Deputy: Cllr Martin Judd)

Cabinet Member for Social Justice and Communities: Cllr Arooj Shah (Deputy: Cllr Steve Williams)

Cabinet Member for Finance: Cllr Abdul Jabbar (Deputy: Cllr Chris Goodwin)

Cabinet Member for Housing: Cllr Hannah Roberts (Deputy: Cllr Valerie Leach)

Cabinet Member for Neighbourhood Services: Cllr Ateeque Ur-Rehman (Deputy: Cllr Mohon Ali)

Cabinet Member for Education and Skills: Cllr Shaid Mushtaq (Deputy: Cllr Cath Ball)

Cabinet Member for Children’s Services: Cllr Amanda Chadderton

Cabinet Member for Health and Social Care: Cllr Zahid Chauhan (Deputy: Cllr Marie Bashforth)