OLDHAM Athletic have released nine players after confirming their retained list.

Chris McCann, Zak Mills, Jamie Stott, Gevaro Nepomuceno and Desire Segbe Azankpo are among the players leaving the club at the end of their deals.

Latics have six players under contract while the club have also made use of what they term ‘Covid-19 extensions’ with five members of the first-team squad signing two or three-month deals while their longer term futures are decided.

Before the formal announcement of the list it had been confirmed Zak Dearnley had signed a new two-year contract while Alex Iacovitti and Mohamed Sylla had joined Ross County and Laval respectively.

A club statement read: “In the existing climate, planning for the future is clearly very difficult.

“Maintaining financial security remains the primary aim and whilst other clubs and their players work through exactly the same issues, it is unlikely we will see many deals being done until dates of return and the conditions under which this will happen are confirmed.

“The head coach (Dino Maamria) is still working with the owner (Abdallah Lemsagam) and board to generate a plan for the recruitment of players for the forthcoming campaign.”

“Our thanks and best wishes go to all of the players leaving Oldham Athletic.”

In Contract: Zak Dearnley, Dylan Fage, Tom Hamer, Danny Rowe, David Wheater, Gary Woods.

Released: Kielen Adams, Desire Segbe Azankpo, Marvin Kokos, Chris McCann, Zak Mills, Javid Swaby-Neavin, Gevaro Nepomuceno, Jamie Stott, Scott Wilson.

Covid-19 short-term extensions: Johan Branger-Engone, Zeus De la Paz, Tomas Egert, Mohamed Maouche, Christopher Missilou.

Returned to parent clubs after loans: Cameron Borthwick-Jackson, Mani Dieseruvwe, Christian N’Guessan, Filipe Morais, Carl Piergianni, Jonny Smith.