LATICS have released 13 players after announcing their retained list for 2021/22 following relegation from League Two.

John Sheridan’s men finished 23rd in the table, becoming the first former Premier League side to drop out of the Football League.

Dylan Bahamboula, Kane Badby, Ousseynou Cisse, Raphael Diarra, Dylan Fage, Jamie Hopcutt, Kyle Jameson, Davis Keillor-Dunn, Christopher Missilou, Tope Obadeyi, Carl Piergianni, Danny Rogers, and Callum Whelan will all leave the club at the end of their contracts.

Meanwhile, Jordan Clarke, Benny Couto, Vani Da Silva, Mike Fondop, Sam Hart, Hallam Hope, Jayson Leutwiler, Junior Luamba, Harrison McGahey, Will Sutton and Harry Vaughan all remain under contract at Boundary Park.

Alex Hunt has also returned to parent club Sheffield Wednesday, while contract negotiations are ongoing with Nicky Adams and Jack Stobbs.

A club statement read: “We would like to place on record our thanks to all the players who have not been retained for their contribution whilst at Boundary Park and we wish them well in their future careers.”

Fans have taken to social media to react to the announcement, with @purdy283 writing: “Gutted on the releases”.

@onlyonestevo added: “Never thought I’d see the day when Fage wasn’t a Latics player”, while @oafcnipo wrote: “Leutwiler staying is odd”.

Latics also say they will issue a further update on which Academy scholars have been offered professional deals in due course.

Earlier today, the club announced that 18-year-old midfielder Trey Turner had signed a professional contract for next season.